Norton promises to transform PNCR into “permanent election campaign machinery”

Leader of the PNCR, Aubrey Norton

The People’s National Congress Reform (PNCR)  on Monday inaugurated its newly elected Leader, Chairman, Treasurer, and members of the Central Executive body.

 Following the party’s 21st Biennial Delegates’ Congress held on Saturday, Aubrey Norton succeeded the Leader of the Opposition, Joseph Harmon, by over 700 votes in the race for Leader.  Norton received 967 votes while Harmon received 245 votes.

Meanwhile, Mohammed Fiaz Musileen was elected as the new Treasurer with 504 votes, while Shurwayne Holder was elected as the party’s new Chairman with 407 votes. The votes were declared by Chief Election Officer, Vincent Alexander.

The party’s former Chairman, Volda Lawrence welcomed the newly elected members to their posts. Alexander said the party has to resolve two ties; one for a member of the Central Executive body and another for the Vice-Chairman post.

The 15 members of the Executive Council are: Amanza Walton-Desir, Annette Ferguson, Christopher Jones, Dawn Hastings, Edward Collins, Ganesh Mahipaul, Gary Best, Geeta Chandon-Edmond, Hazel Pile-Lewis, Jermaine Figueira, Kirk Fraser, Reyaz Roopnarine, Samuel Sandy, Coretta Mc Donald, and Troy Cadogan.

Meanwhile, Norton has since promised to lead the party in an inclusive manner. “I want to promise you, that I will make this party a grassroots party, a party for all Guyanese of all ethnic groups; it is the kind of party we desire,” Norton said.

 He said that he will work with the Executive Council to transform the PNCR into a “permanent election campaign machinery”. The newly elected leader told the party’s members that the 2020 elections are over and they must now move on.

 According to him, the PNCR will be advocating for a new voters’ list.


 See the official elections results below:

 The official results were today declared by the Chief Elections officer. The following persons were elected:

 Party Officers

 Leader:                          Aubrey Norton – 967

Chairman:                     Shurwayne Holder – 407

Vice Chairpersons:        1. Elizabeth Williams-Niles – 470;

2. Christopher Jones – 381

3. Vinceroy Jordan – 381

Treasurer:                     Mohamed Faaiz Mursaline – 404


Central Executive Committee:


One hundred and twenty-three persons contested for positions on the fifteen (15) members Central Executive Committee. Those elected are:


1.     Gary Best – 618

2.     Christopher Jones – 586

3.     Jermaine Figueira – 536

4.     Edward Collins – 521

5.     Dawn Hastings-Williams – 484

6.     Geeta Chandan-Edmond – 445

7.     Hazel Pyle-Lewis – 406

8.     Kirk Fraser – 362

9.     Samuel Sandy – 351

10. Amanza Walton-Desir – 350

11. Ganesh Mahipaul – 326

12. Coretta Mc Donald – 317

13. Troy Garraway – 301

14. Riaz Roopnaraine – 289

15. Annette Ferguson – 272


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here