Basil Williams, Sharma Solomon, Carl Greenidge, 4 others receive nominations for PNCR Leader


The Peoples National Congress Reform (PNCR) has set a date for its  21st Biennial Delegates Congress. In a statement on Wednesday, the party said, “arrangements are well underway” for the congress which is scheduled for December 11, 2021.

The statement noted that the Congress will be for “delegates only, decentralized and hybrid”. It also stated that the nomination of delegates for various party positions ended on November 12, 2021.

The Group nominees for Party Officers are as follows:

For the position of Party Leader: Basil Williams, Carl Greenidge, Richard Van West-Charles, Volda Lawrence, Aubrey Norton, Joseph Harmon, Sharma Solomon. 

For the position of Party Chairman: Volda Lawrence, Gary Best, Shurwayne Holder, Amanza Walton-Desir, Roysdale Ford, Annette Ferguson, Aubrey Norton, Sharma Solomon, Ronald Bulkan, Christopher Jones, Richard Van West-Charles, Simona Broomes, Geeta Chandan, Dawn Hastings, Joseph Harmon, and Mervyn Williams.

For the position of Party Vice-Chairman: Elizabeth Niles-Williams, Volda Lawrence, Dawn Hastings-Williams, Annette Ferguson, Vinceroy Jordan, Gregory Fraser, Aubrey Norton, Darren Wade, Gary Best, Christopher Jones, Richard Van West-Charles, Shurwayne Holder, Roysdale Ford, Ubraj Narine, Sharma Solomon, Robert Corbin, Simona Broomes, Natasha Singh-Lewis, Kirk Fraser, Randolph Critchlow, Amanza Walton-Desir, Corretta McDonald, Ronald Cox, Ronald Bulkan, Mervyn Williams, Ganesh Mahipaul, Bernita Primo, Samuel Sandy, and Jevaughn Stephens.

For the position of Party Treasurer: Ivelaw Henry, Clayton Newman, Elson Lowe, Vanessa Kissoon, Derrick Lawrence, Gary Best, Faaiz Mursaline, Ubraj Narine, Ronald Bulkan, Carol Smith-Joseph, Annette Ferguson, Amanza Walton-Desir, Roysdale Ford, Dr. Karen Cummings, Volda Lawrence, Ganesh Mahipaul, Daniel Seeram, and Deron John.

The PNCR’s statement added, “this Congress is about how the party will re-organize and re-position itself to deliver on its programmes and meet the expectations and obligations to its members and supporters…the party, therefore, believes that this Congress will create the conditions for the promotion of both cohesion and unity.”

Noting that it has been in existence for 64 years, the PNCR said it is guided by a prayer made by its then leader L.F.S Burnham, who at the party’s 12th Congress said the following: “I pray you now that the party is coming into its own, keep it whole and strong…let no one now or ever divide us.” The party noted that it has taken this advice to heart, which will serve as a constant inspiration for all.

The PNCR which makes up the majority of  A Partnership for National Unity / Alliance For Change (APNU/AFC)- Guyana’s main parliamentary Opposition- is currently headed by former President David Granger. As is evident from the statement, Granger received no nominations for any of the party’s positions.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here